The Forum That Came Back From The Dead
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A rockin' fan forum that rose from the grave

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Silly hollow body guitar question, but what the hell....

Go down 
+9
scatcatcnut
Mike
alka-setzer
brent
PICKIN' PETE
Diggey
Davy Jones
brett
Flattop Rob
13 posters
AuthorMessage
Flattop Rob

Flattop Rob

Silly hollow body guitar question, but what the hell.... Empty
PostSubject: Silly hollow body guitar question, but what the hell....   Silly hollow body guitar question, but what the hell.... EmptyThu May 22, 2008 3:03 pm

OK guys....as you probably know, I'm wailing away on my cheap Fender knockoff solidbody, and although I'm no pro yet and still just mainly chording the hell out of it, I'm just not happy with the 'bland' sound it's putting out....and since I don't have the serious bucks at this time to invest in a real Gretsch, I have been scheming a way to procure a cheap hollow body electric guitar that will come a lot closer to "the sound" than what I have now. Which leads me to these somewhat silly (I'm not a guitar tech guy) questions that hopefully I can get your input on....

1) What do you think about a vintage electric, like a Kay, Harmony, or the Japanese models, like Apollo, Domino, Teisco, etc? I missed the bid on a 70's model Kawai hollowbody (with a knock-off Bigsby) by a few bucks on ebay the other day, and I was wondering about the quality....this one looked pretty darn nice. I'm not a rich man, but I understand most of the sound quality of a guitar come from the pickups; I'm not above springing for a higher quality set for a cheap guitar, if that's feasible (a luthier I am not, although I'm good with my hands).